HND Computer Science

Level 4 & Level 5

Diploma in Computer Science

The Pearson BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diploma in Computing is designed to support progression into relevant occupational areas or on to degree-level study.

This course can lead to direct progression of an Honours Degree in computing or a closely related discipline at a university. It will also enable progression on to further study such as professional development Qualification OR vendor Qualifications offered by Cisco, Microsoft IBM, compTIA, Oracle and WM Ware.

HND Level 4 & 5

Computer Science Modules

Course Pathways

Pathway at level 4
1. Computer Science

Pathways at level 5
1. Network Engineering
2. Software Engineering
3. Data Analytics
4. Security
5. Intelligent Systems
6. Applications Development

Teaching and Assessment Methods

This course uses a variety of teaching methods including lectures, tutorials, computer laboratory sessions, collaborative learning and self-directed study. A number of modules are assessed by coursework only and involve group work.
Assessment in each module is designed to meet its specified learning outcomes. Methods of assessment will include time constrained phase tests, portfolios of work, laboratory exercises, exams, reports and presentations

Progression Pathways

Computer Science (International) BSc
BSc (Hons) Computing and IT
Information Technology – BSc (Hons)
Computer Games – BA (Hons)
Cyber Security and Networking – BSc (Hons)
BSc (Hons) Computing & Systems Development – BSc (Hons)
Computing Strategy and Management – BSc (Hons)